header image
[ # ] League 3-in-a-rows
March 3rd, 2007

With Kilkenny in line for a 3 in a row of league titles if they can add this years crown to their remarkable recent success it’s time to look back and see what other teams have achieved the feat since the league’s inception.

There have been plenty of back to back titles down through the years, including Kilkenny twice in the 2000s, but the 3 (or more) in a row has proved much more difficult to achieve.

The last time it was achieved was 1959-1961 by Tipperary. That was the start of the great Tipp team of the ’60s as they went on to win 4 out of 5 All-Irelands between 61 and 65. Indeed all through the late 50s and 60s Tipp were regular winners of the league.

The only other occasion the 3 in a row was achieved was in fact part of the greatest league run ever when the great Limerick team of the 1930s won 5 league titles consecutively from 1934 to 1938 inclusive. Inspired by the legendary Mick Mackey Limerick were unstoppable in the league at the time. They added the All-Irelands of ‘34 and ‘36 to their crown and but for a strong Kilkenny team in that decade aswell they might have won much more.

So while the cats chase another league crown to add to their dominance they still have a long way to go to emulate Limerick’s 1930s legends.

Related Posts
Updated League Tables
Importance of a good League campagin - Part 2
League Tables

Write a comment


Who'll win the Club title?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Blogs I Read

HurlingBlog.com is licensed under a .

Banner Image by Greg Franklin.