header image
[ # ] Waterford win league title
April 29th, 2007

Waterford beat Kilkenny by 0-20 to 0-18 in Thurles to claim the National Hurling League title.
They came from 3 points down in the second half to win with two injury time points.

The first half was a scrappy affair with a lot of the scores coming from frees, at half time Waterford led by 11 to 9. Kilkenny started the second half on fire and hit 5 unanswered points but Waterford found a new lease of life and pulled back level before 2 late points by Eoin Kelly and Seamus Prendergast gave them the win. Ken McGrath was named the man of the match and captain Michael Walsh lifted the Croke cup.

This was Waterford’s first senior national title since their 1963 league win and Kilkenny’s first defeat in a league final since 1978 to Clare.

WATERFORD: C Hennessy; E Murphy, D Prendergast, J Murray; T Browne, K McGrath (0-3, 1f), A Kearney; M Walsh, S Molumphy; E Kelly (0-8, 6f), S Prendergast (0-3), S Walsh; J Mullane (0-2), D Shanahan (0-1), J Kennedy (0-1).

Subs used: P Flynn (0-1) for S Walsh (48 mins), E McGrath (0-1) for Murray (53), S O’Sullivan for Kennedy (74).

KILKENNY: PJ Ryan; N Hickey, B Hogan, JJ Delaney; J Tyrrell, PJ Delaney, T Walsh; D Lyng (0-1), W O’Dwyer; E Brennan (0-1), M Comerford (0-2), R Power (0-2); H Shefflin (0-12, 6f, 1 ‘65′), J Fitzpatrick, A Fogarty.

Subs used: E Larkin for Fitzpatrick (38 mins), E McCormack for Fogarty (66).

Related Posts
New Poll: Who’ll win the Hurling League
Kilkenny cruise to another Leinster title.
Roscommon win the Nicky Rackard Cup

Write a comment


Are Kilkenny the greatest team ever?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Blogs I Read

HurlingBlog.com is licensed under a .

Banner Image by Greg Franklin.