Eran Zahavi is the unknown Israeli outscoring Ronaldo, Sterling, Kane and Lukaku in Euro 2020 qualifying – The Sun

ERAN ZAHAVI is blazing a trail as the most prolific goalscorer in Euro 2020 – but the forward is a virtual unknown outside Israel and China.

The 32-year-old has put the likes of Raheem Sterling, Harry Kane and Cristiano Ronaldo in the shadows with his blistering form so far in the competition.

He has struck 11 times so far for Israel to leave him two goals ahead of his nearest challenger, Russia's Artem Dzyuba.

England stars Sterling and Kane are the best performing of the major international stars, with eight goals apiece.

And Portugal legend Ronaldo is hot on their heels with seven goals so far, ahead of the final round of two matches iver the coming days.

Zahavi has scored in seven of his country's eight qualifying matches so far, including hat-tricks in successive games against Austria and Latvia.

And he is hoping to be among the goals again in their final two matches against Poland and North Macedonia to finish as the hottest goalscorer in qualifying.

Even so, it will not be enough for Israel to find their way into the finals next summer with the Poles completely dominant in the group so far.

Most read in football


Cristiano Ronaldo 'asks for Real Madrid return', Palhinha targeted

Gunners news

Arthur Melo £40m loan-to-buy, Aubameyang AXED from Dubai tour


Why are there no Premier League games on this weekend and when does it return?


Andy Carroll voted WORST ever Premier League signing – who else made the list?

Zahavi's impact on the international stage has come in the twilight years of a career which until 2016 had only seen him play in Israel other than one brief spell in Italy with Palermo.

He then made the move to the Chinese Super League with Guangzhou R&F – a transfer which has proved to be a huge success.

In 93 appearances for Guangzhou he has struck an impressive 84 goals, and in 2017 was named as the Most Valuable Player in the league.When is the Euro 2020 draw? Live stream, date, time, format, TV channel and qualified teams for next year’s tournament

    Source: Read Full Article