How many times have Liverpool won the Premier League? Your most Googled questions answered

GOT a question?

SunSport has scoured Google to give you the answers to all the burning questions about the Premier League.

How many times have Liverpool won the Premier League?

Liverpool have been champions of England 19 times, trailing only rivals Manchester United.

Jurgen Klopp finally ended the Reds' 30-year wait for the trophy in June 2020, but they remain one title behind the Red Devils.

And they have only won the Premier League ONCE, with the last of their titles before Klopp's men became kings coming in the old First Division in 1989-90.

Kenny Dalglish was manager back then, while John Barnes was the star – the winger scored 28 goals in that campaign.

Britain was very different in 1990.

Margaret Thatcher was in the final year of her 11-year Premiership, Mr Bean made his debut on TV and the Channel Tunnel was still being built.

How many games there in the Premier League season?

There are 38 games to a Premier League season and have been since the division was cut down from 22 teams at the end of the 1994-95 season.

When does the 2020/21 Premier League season start?

Liverpool's title defence is pencilled in to start on the weekend of September 12/13.

It is starting a month later than its August date to ensure the players have an end of season break following the delayed 2019/20 season.

How many teams have won the Premier League?

Seven teams have won the Premier League since its inception in 1992.

Manchester United have won it the most – 13 times under Sir Alex Ferguson.

The other winners are Blackburn Rovers (one title), Arsenal (three), Chelsea (four), Manchester City (two), Leicester City (one) and Liverpool (one).

How many teams are there in the Premier League?

Twenty teams compete in the Premier League – there were 22 teams until the 1994-95 season.

The top four qualify for the Champions League, fifth and sixth place qualify for the Europa League group stage (unless one of those teams is defending a Champions League win), seventh also qualifies for the Europa League third qualifying round.

The bottom three are relegated to the EFL Championship.


Source: Read Full Article